Commissions and Advisory Councils (Collectively Advisory Bodies)


The City has three commission and three advisory councils including the Community Services Commission, the Planning Commission, the Public Safety Commission, the Historical Preservation Advisory Council, the Senior Council, and the Youth Council. The commissions and councils are advisory groups to the City Council. The commissions have broad City-wide areas of review, while the councils have more narrowly focused areas of review on specific segments of the community.

La Mirada also has a Community Foundation, which receives donations intended to benefit a wide variety of community services and programs.

Appointment of Commissioners and Advisory Council Members:

Commissioners are appointed by the City Council following a recommendation by a specific Councilmember.  Advisory council members are also appointed by a majority vote of the City Council. City Councilmembers do not serve on advisory bodies.  With the exception of the Planning Commission, which is required by State Law, all La Mirada advisory bodies were established by resolution to provide residents participation in specific areas of concern.

Advisory bodies are responsible for performing studies on municipal issues and rendering opinions and advice to the City Council, as well as developing community goals.

Members serving on Community Services, Planning, and Public Safety Commissions receive a $35 stipend for attending meetings.  Attendance is mandatory for payment.

All advisory body members must meet the following requirements:

  • Be a citizen of the United States;
  • Be a resident of the City of La Mirada; and
  • Have taken and filed with the City Clerk, the oath as required by the La Mirada Municipal Code.

In addition to the above listed requirements, the Public Safety Commission requires that a member be at least 18 years of age. 

It is the City's practice to allow service on only one advisory body at a time.  Advisory body members are not allowed to serve on more than one commission or advisory council at the same time with the exception of the Foundation President, who serves on the Community Services Commission pursuant to the bylaws.

Currently, there are vacancies on the Historical Preservation Advisory Council, Senior Council, and Community Foundation.  If you are interested in completing an application, they are available in the City Hall Lobby or click here for an application.  Completed applications are kept on file for one year.  If you have any questions, please call City Hall at (562) 943-0131.

All Commission monthly meetings are held in the City Council Chambers at 6:30 p.m. and are open to the public. All advisory council meetings are held at the locations and times listed below:

Community Services Commission

Person Role
Steve Soto
Susan Savage
Vice Chairman
Rebecca Cline
Misty Cota Minjares
Diane Gramajo
Pete Dames
Athletic Council President
Michael Lord
Foundation President

Meetings: First Wednesday of each month, 6:30 p.m.

The Community Services Commission is responsible for developing recommendations to improve the quality of life in the community regarding social, recreational and cultural needs and programs.

Planning Commission

Person Role
Lee Olsen
Scott Anderson
Vice Chairman
Changhai Ahn
Keith Chung
Michael Saenz

Meetings: Third Thursday of each month, 6:30 p.m.

The Planning Commission’s responsibilities and authority are in accordance with the Conservation and Planning laws as related to general law cities, except as may be otherwise authorized by and set forth in specific City Ordinances.

Public Safety Commission

Person     Role
David Morfin
David Harbaugh
Vice Chairman
Desiree Johnson
Mark Madison
Barry Quill

Meetings: Fourth Thursday of each month, 6:30 p.m.

The Public Safety Commission studies, makes reports, holds hearings, and makes recommendations to the City Council on matters relating to public safety in the City. Major areas of responsibility include: items of traffic safety as related to traffic and pedestrian control; and adequacy of police, fire, and health services.

Senior Council

person Role
Tom Rosholt 
Martha Viayra Vice Chairman
Diane Albert

Mariann Hampton

Jackie Holtzen Member
Larry McCollum Member
Peggy Roman Member
Eugena Thomas
Larry Torres Member
Lois Nelson Alternate

 Meetings: Fourth Wednesday, 10 a.m. at the La Mirada Activity Center.

The Senior Council consists of 16 members and alternate members including 4 members selected at-large from the community. The Senior Council reviews issues such as planning senior recreation activities and programs, enhancing senior social services, developing community safety, technology, and mentoring programs, distributing public information, and expanding community events.

Youth Council

David Ramirez
Noemi Munoz
Vice Chairman
Yvonne Chen
Karis Chun Member
Fabian Lee Member
Adriana Perez Member
Ariana Tirado
 Sarah Usmani
Maximo Vasquez

Meetings: Last Wednesday monthly, 6:30 p.m. at the La Mirada Resource Center.

The Youth Council consists of 13 primary members (4 at-large, 9 school representatives, and nine alternates all serving one-year terms expiring in October.) The Youth Council works on creating a Youth Master Plan, planning youth recreation activities, expanding programs and facilities, school and campus safety, technology, mentoring programs career enhancement programs, public information social services and community events.

Historical Preservation Advisory Council

Person Role
Stephen Thrasher
Marlene Olsen
Vice Chairman
Tony Aiello
Gail Pearce
Dr. David Peters
Myllie Taylor

Meetings: Second Thursday of each month, 4:30p.m. at La Mirada City Hall.

Community Foundation

Person Role
Michael Lord          President
Lesley Watkins
Vice President
Pete Dames
John Grotz Member
Hal Malkin     Member
Dr. Ray Yutani Member

Meetings: Fourth Wednesday of each month, 6:30 p.m. at La Mirada City Hall.

For more information regarding the Community Foundation click here

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer