City News

Sign Up For Email Updates

La Mirada City Council Election Results

Post Date:03/30/2017 10:33 AM

The City Council recently certified the results of the General Municipal Election held on March 7, 2017. John Lewis was elected to the City Council representing District 1 and Andrew Sarega was elected to the City Council representing District 2. The term of office for both is four years.

This was the first election by which members of the La Mirada City Council were elected by-district. Districts 3, 4, and 5 will elect representatives to the City Council in 2019. Steve De Ruse, Ed Eng, and Larry Mowles also serve on the City Council, as each was elected to an at-large four year term in March 2015. 

Ed Eng was selected to serve as Mayor at the March 28 City Council Meeting. Mayor Eng has served on the City Council since 2015. Larry Mowles was selected as Mayor Pro Tem. Mayor Pro Tem Mowles has served on City Council since 2011. The terms of office for Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem is one year.


Return to full list >>